The story of 2022 so far...

The story of 2022 so far...

28 July 2022

As Trackday Championship heads into the final three rounds of its 2022 season, what better time to take a look back at the fantastic action we’ve seen so far this year.

The season roared into life at Silverstone back in April, with 40 challengers lining up on the grid to kickstart their 2022 TDC campaigns. Unique Racing’s #89 car secured the inaugural pole position of the year, narrowly edging Team Air Supply and 15Degrees-North. Mangoes Racing and Alister Esam secured class poles in C and D respectively, by the smallest of margins. A competitive race followed, with Tylah Motorsport’s John Lyne capitalising on a fast start to take the first victory of 2022. A sterling drive from Team Norfolk was rewarded with second place, while polesitters Unique Racing had to settle for third. Mangoes Racing topped off a vintage performance by taking the first class TDC grand slam of 2022, while McKee Motorsport put in fantastic recovery drive to finish third in class after spinning in the first corner. Abbitt Motorsport took the second step of the C podium. Coupes & Convertible Racing ensured a strong start to their 2022 campaign by topping Class D, ahead of Fiesta_Clubracer and Greenstar Racing.

Trackday Championship then headed north for round two, with the picturesque Lincolnshire Wolds circuit Cadwell Park the venue. All three class pole positions went the way of teams who qualified second in class at Silverstone, meaning Team Air Supply (B), McKee Motorsport (C) and Fiesta_Clubracer (D) all lined up at the front of their respective packs. Silverstone winner Tylah Motorsport #71 could only manage seventh on the grid, but duly atoned to that in the race with a fantastic drive to finish first for the second race in a row! Apple Car Centre recorded their first podium of the season, being joined by Team Norfolk in third. Abbitt Motorsport continued their strong start to 2022 by taking the top step in Class C, ahead of LWD Racing and Unique Racing #98. The three who took to the Class D podium in Silverstone replicated this feat at Cadwell, with Fiesta_Clubracer taking the top step ahead of Coupes & Convertibles Racing and Greenstar Racing.

Round Three was a historic one for TDC, as it was the turn of the first ever championship race in Wales! Anglesey’s beautiful coastal circuit hosted a fantastic event, with Unique Racing clearly enjoying the Welsh sunshine. After securing pole position, the #89 car maximized great pit stop strategy and strong race pace to take their first victory of the year. It wasn’t a bad event for Tylah Motorsport either, with two cars joining Unique on the Class B podium – notably a second place for championship leader John Lyne. A hugely impressive drive from PRO-AM Racing earned them victory in Class C, finishing second on the road and almost a minute ahead of the ever-consistent Abbitt Motorsport. Unique Racing #98 rounded out the C podium, while Fiesta_Clubracer extended their lead at the head of the Class D’s standings with their second class victory of 2022. Coupes & Convertibles Racing and Ronan Quinn Racing topped off strong performances with a D podium finish each.

The latest round of TDC, at Snetterton, proved an instant classic! Unique Racing #89 followed up on their Anglesey victory with class pole position, but come the end of the race it was an intense battle at the front between Tylah Motorsport #71 and Apple Car Centre that had everyone on the edge of their seats. Exiting the final corner on the last lap side by side, an epic drag race to the finish line culminated with Tylah Motorsport #71 earning their third Class B victory of 2022. Apple Car Centre had to settle for second by just 0.051secs! Class polesitter Unique Racing rounded off the podium. Mangoes Racing recorded their second C victory of the season, having rose from fifth in class after qualifying. McKee Motorsport matched their best result of the season by finishing second in C, while LWD Racing received their second trophy of the season for third. Another strong D performance from Fiesta_Clubracer resulted in an impressive grand slam, finishing ahead of Coupes & Convertibles Racing and Boreham Motorsport’s Reece Warrick.

This all means that after four races its Tylah Motorsport’s John Lyne who leads the way in the overall championship standings, with Abbitt Motorsport and Fiesta_Clubracer topping the C and D standings respectively. However, there’s still plenty of points up for grabs in the remaining races of the season and it will be thrilling to see if the three can fend off the swarm of challengers to end the season in glory.

Up next, the historic Brands Hatch GP circuit awaits….