London wins at Zandvoort

AutoRevive London wins TDC's maiden European round

  • London wins at Zandvoort


AutoRevive London wins TDC's maiden European round

Qualifying at Zandvoort was anything but straight forward, with the majority of the teams setting their fastest laps late in the session as they gained more confidence in the new circuit. Overall it was the Class S BMW of AutoRevive London pair Chris Mills and David Gardner who took pole and the Class S lead, ahead of Mangoes Racing’s Darren Goes and Mark Nenadic respectively. Class A Pole went to the sole entry of Barton Motorsport. Class B Pole was clinched by GNB Racings Gary Burstow, despite a late charge from Apple Car Centres Ray and Jordan Honeybone who had to settle for third ahead of Team Air Supplys George and Jack Wright. Class C pole was taken by the Tylah Motorsport Fiesta of Alf Hyde, ahead of the Tylah Motorsport BMW of Dean Hyde, whose session was cut short with distributor issues. Class D pole was captures by 93R Motorsports Jack Youhill, ahead of the Fiesta of Beaufort Racing pair Clive Goldthorpe and Shaun Andrews, with Adrian Norman in the Swan Flight MINI coming in third.

As the cars came off the line, it was the BMW of AutoRevive London pair of Gardner and Mills that held the lead with a great start from pole, with the Mangoes Racing Seat of Darren Goes close on their tail. The sister Mangoes Racing’s Seat of Mark Nenadic however, had a tough start bogging down off the line, and allowing the Team ALN Porsche of Warren Allen into third. When Nanadic got going he was seventh on the road just behind the Class B car of Tylah Motorsports John Lyne on the exit of turn one, Tarzan.

The Class B Battle was close, with GNB Racing, Apple Car Centre, Tylah Motorsport and Team Airsupply, four for the lead over much of the opening section of the race. After an initially good start the Tylah Motorsport BMW ran wide on the exit of Tarzan to allow Apple Car Centre past for second in Class B.   

Up front the top three S Class cars were still pushing hard, the AutoRevive London BMW, keeping the Mangoes Racing Seat and the Team ALN Porsche behind. This appeared to allow the recovering Mangoes Racing Seat of Nenadic to catch the front running cars. Showing real pace, Nenadic was able to pass the Team ALN Porsche of Warren Allen for third on lap three.

The lead in Class B changed on lap three, as the class pole sitter GNB Racing finally caved to the constant pressure of Apple Car Centre, and following a slow exit from turn eight a defensive line and slow run out of turn nine couldn’t keep the Apple Car Centre car at bay and the Renault was through on the brakes into turn ten. This was a lead they would retain as the BMW of GNB Racing developed engine issues.

Class C was the battle of the Tylah Motorsport cars, with Alf Hyde in the Tylah Motorsport Fiesta taking the advantage in the early exit in qualifying of stablemate Dean Hyde in the Tylah Motorsport BMW. With limited laps under his belt Dean managed to recover and claim the Class C lead on lap three.

Class D got away well, and held their position from qualifying in the early stages of the race. Drama struck though as the Fiesta of 93R Motorsports Jack Youhill came to strife six laps in with a wheel stud failure. This allowed Beaufort Racing into the lead, followed by the SwanFlight MINI in second.

Mangoes Racing now catching the sister Mangoes racing car of Goes, passed in a perfectly choreographed manoeuvre on the start finish straight on lap seven for second in class and overall.  This released the Nenadic Seat to chase down the leading Autorevive BMW. This was short lived however as the Nenadic Seat came into the pits just before the pit stops with a tyre issue.

When the dust settled from the pit stop window, it was the Autorevive London BMW who emerged in the lead. This lead seemed too much for the Seat of Goes who brought the Seat home in second place after a late charge. Warren Allen took third in the Team ALN Porsche.

Following a close race on track, Tylah Motorsports John Lyne managed to jump the Team Air Supply Porsche in the pit lane for second in class. This was how they stayed as the BMW managed to gap the Porsche but couldn’t catch the leading Clio. Over the line it was Apple Car Centre, ahead of the Tylah Motorsport BMW and the Team Air Supply Porsche in third.

Class D was won by Beaufort Racing, pair Andrews and Goldthorpe in the Fiesta, followed home by Adrian Norman in the Swan Flight MINI.

Contact Details
Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.