No Payne no Gain at Brands Hatch GP

FTP Motorsport win at Brands Hatch

  • No Payne no Gain at Brands Hatch GP


FTP Motorsport win at Brands Hatch

Qualifying was a hard fought affair, with multiple teams taking a claim of the top spot during the session. When all was said and done though it was David Graves of Graves Motorsport on pole, ahead of Apple Car Centre pair Ray and Jordan Honeybone. Snetterton and Oulton Park pole sitter Ben Davis took third. In Class C Foz Motorsports Simon Harrison took the class pole, ahead of the sister Foz Clio at the hands of Pete Bennett. G&M Motorsport’s Sam Gay took third in class. Ronan Quinn took another class pole in Class D, replicating his brilliant lap at Oulton Park. Supatune run cars dominated the top of the class, with a second on the grid for Tom Starkey and Rob Burnham, and Matt Wright in the Puma qualifying third in class.

When the lights went out, it was the FTP Motorsport Caterham that got of the line first, able to jump the Clio’s ahead to follow the pole sitting Graves BMW into Paddock Hill. With the train following the leaders up to Druids, a moment of drama saw the Supatune Fiesta of Starkey and Burnham stop under the bridge. This brought out an early Safety Car as the fiesta was recovered.

After the restart, Davis in the Foz Motorsport Clio managed to put a string of good laps together to jump the Apple Car Centre Clio. Technical gremlins then took hold as the Apple Car Centre Car was then passed by BigSkidz Race Fiesta, and Team Darkside in the Ibiza. The Apple Car Centre Clio retired after the pit stops.

Class C was led by the Foz Motorsport Clio's. Pete Bennett in the 144 Clio taking the chase to the Class B cars ahead. G&M Motorsport’s Sam Gay was holding a strong third in class ahead of Team Banana’s Will Jackson-Moore and Roca Racings Paul Simpson fighting for fourth. Class D saw Ronan Quinn out in front from the restart, with the Puma of Supatune’s Matt Wright close in second. The pair had a small advantage over Steven Kelly in the SGR Racing Clio and Jack Youhill in the 93R Motorsport Fiesta, who were running third and forth.

As the cars readied for the pit stop window, the FTP Motorsport Caterham managed to find a way past the Graves motorsport BMW. This also allowed Davis in the Foz Motorsport Clio past, prompting David Graves to come into the pits for a stop now that the pit window was open. In Class C it was Simon Harrison in the pits first, followed by Pete Bennett after an off on the GP loop. This gave a temporary lead to the G&M Motorsport car.

As the dust settled from the pit stops, it was the Kester Cook in the Big Skidz Fiesta who had jumped the leaders from back in fourth, the early stopping Fiesta making the most of running in clear air with the leaders in the pits. The early challenge to Cook came from Davis in the Foz Clio, but with the late pace of the FTP Caterham looked strong. Chris Payne in the FTP Motorsport Caterham managed to catch the back of the lead Fiesta with just four laps to go! As the lead pair traded lap times, it was clear that all was not well with. At the start of the last lap, Cook pulled off at Paddock Hill to confirm this and retire from the race. The win was FTP Motorsports. Chris Payne crossed the line to win the Caterham’s first TDC race, ahead of Ben Davies for Foz Motorsport in second. David Graves took third.

The Class C leaders had swapped in the pits, with Simon Harrison now leading Pete Bennett. Paul Simpson was now a close third, Pro-Am Racing and White Knight racing Civic of Aaron Harding close behind. Despite trading lap times right to the wire, Simon Harrison was able to take the win, ahead of Foz sister car of Pete Bennett. Paul Simpson of Roca Racing came third in Class, ahead of Pro-Am Racing in fourth.

In Class D Ronan Quinn emerged from the pit window still in the class lead, Matt Wright still in second. It had changed for fourth though with Phil Burden in the Supatune Fiesta now ahead of SGR Racing’s Steven Kelly. Kelly was able to pass the Fiesta to regain fourth, but this was all he could muster as the battle had allowed 93R Motorsports Youhill to escape up the road and hold third in class. It was soon to be all change for the lead as well, as an issue for long time Class D leader Ronan Quinn Racing caused him to slow losing the class lead, and win to Matt Wright in the Supatune Puma on the last lap of the race.

Contact Details
Tel: 0843 453 3000*

*Calls to 0843 453 3000 are charged at 7 pence per minute plus your phone company's access charge.